Dakota State University makes the bibliographic management program EndNote available to students through the Mundt Library (I know I downloaded a copy from the Mundt website… but I can’t remember where!). Our tuition or student fees or tax dollars are paying for it, so I guess it can’t hurt to use it.

But you and our university can find a cheaper and better alternative for managing your research sources and notes in Zotero, an open-source bibliography manager that a fellow student introduced me to last spring. I dig it… and so does the National Science Foundation. NSF has been using Zotero in-house for a while, and they’re sufficiently satisfied that they’ve hired the Zotero.org team to build a customized version for them.

So consider: if the software is good enough for the people you’re begging for grants, might it be good enough for you?

