An an amateur artist, I ought to have a greater appreciation of diagrams in written reports. Instead, I continue to find diagrams that don’t tell me a darn thing I can’t get from the report itself.

Today’s example: looking around for KM system requirements documents (don’t ask), I find this diagram on page 15 of the SysReqSpecs for Port Community System. The only explanation: “The interaction between port community players in the current system is depicted in the diagram below:”

interaction diagram, PCS 2007

interaction diagram, PCS 2007

Names? Departments? Nature of interaction relevant to the project? Nope. Nada. Bupkis.

Now maybe this was just a format screw-up: I notice my version of the PDF shows some colored text shifted down, right, and off the page. But the above is all I see, and it’s not enhancing my understanding. As a matter of fact, it’s just distracting me… by making me want to blog it!

